Inclusion is one of Watkinson's core beliefs; this is manifest in our admissions and hiring practices, in the content of our curriculum, and in our teaching methods.
Link to Watkinson's Five-Year Strategic Plan
Benchmark: By February 2018, the Equity and Social Justice Committee will develop a mission and goals for courageous conversations around ongoing learning and reflection regarding equity and diversity. We will develop and communicate explicit connections between this goal and Restorative Practices.

Important Affiliation
Watkinson is the SPHERE Host School for 2017-18, meaning our Head of School Teri Schrader is the president of the SPHERE Board. Watkinson hosted the SPHERE Opening Event featuring poet and professor Dr. Gina Athena Ulysse. We also host board meetings and a Directors of Diversity Retreat at the end of the academic year. SPHERE is currently comprised of 13 area schools, including Pomfret Academy, Suffield Academy, Loomis Chaffee, Ethel Walker, Miss Porter’s, the
Cobb School, Renbrook, Grace Academy, Avon Old farms, Covenant Prep, Kingswood, and Watkinson School.

Events at Watkinson
Watkinson will host a student led SPHERE Student of Color Summit — November 5.
MLK Day of Service and Celebration — January 12.
Social Justice Day — April 11

Affinity and Alliance Student Groups

SAFE, Watkinson's LGBTQ Alliance

Titans, Affinity Group for Young Men of Color

Ravens, Affinity Group for Young Women of Color

La Familia, Affinity Group for Latino Students

Young Women’s Empowerment Group, Affinity Group for Girls

Middle School Student of Color Affinity Group

United Through Difference, Alliance Group for Students from all background who want to come together to understand differences

Young Conservatives Club, a club that explores conservative values and seeks to bridge understanding between people of varied political leanings
    • Martha Brackeen-Harris and Art Miller speak to Watkinson students and faculty at MLK Day Celebration 2017

      Martha Brackeen-Harris and Art Miller speak to Watkinson students and faculty at MLK Day Celebration 2017

Equity and Social Justice Committee

David Kroch
Heather Ley, chair
Jessica Payne
George Sailor
Hillary Sibille